Cultural Property

There are 5 categories of cultural properties, namely the "Tangible Cultural Properties", "Intangible Cultural Properties", "Folk Cultural Properties", "Monuments" and "Groups of Traditional Buildings". Among these cultural properties which could be in the form of historic sites, monuments, scenic spots and natural landscapes, the important ones are designated "Important Cultural Properties" and protected by the nation, prefecture or municipal. Futhermore, properties buried in the ground (Buried Cultural Properties) and traditional conservation / restoration techniques (Conservation Techniques for Cultural Properties) are also protected by the law. The categorization of cultural properties are as follows. (Categorization chart)

designated cultural properties

prefecture designated cultural assets

Country-Selected Cultural Property

Country Registered Cultural Property